I’m so tired my mind is on the blink

19 11 2008

Last weekend was perfect. It involved dancing, requesting songs, meeting friends, introducing friends to other friends, more dancing, good food, some culture and only a dash of sleeping – all of which left me totally exhausted on Monday. It would be easy to blame my Occasionally Stationary Friend who was in town visiting. So I will. It was all his fault. He is way too much fun to stay inside too long when there’s a whole world of pubs and clubs and music and dance to be had.  If you add to the mixture my ex-Occasionally Better Half, My Occasionally Dutch-Teaching Friend and my Occasionally Irish Friend you will see it was the perfect recipe for a feast of fun.

So much so that I only got to bed at 5am on both Saturday morning AND Sunday morning. I was sure an early night would heal the wounds and when I was still exhausted by the time Tuesday came round I began to worry. Perhaps dancing to American Boy for the 500th time this year had finally caused a serious illness. Maybe all the weekend partying had had some negative effect on my drugs. Maybe I was suffering party-jetlag. What was going on with my body? Was it simply staging a peaceful protest or was it the sign of yet another exotic illness? I worried about this as I cycled home from work, trying desperately to keep my eyes open. Would I ever feel awake again?

I wasn’t in the house half an hour when I noticed I felt more alert and alive – despite having spent all the proceeding daylight hours yawning on loop, drooped over my desk trying not to fall asleep. This new-found energy continued all evening – I felt like I could run a marathon if only I was crazy enough to want to. And then it dawned on me what was going on the whole time, and it made perfect sense. I’m obviously allergic to work!


Actions

Information

21 responses

19 11 2008
travellingbut not in love

ah, weekends with Conortje….without a doubt, it’s all about getting down to the number one champion sound….

19 11 2008
conortje

Absolutely, tell the wok wobbler!

19 11 2008
Caro

That’s a serious allergy. The only cure is to find a rich sugar-daddy. They don’t come on prescription though and can be a bit hard to find.

19 11 2008
red leeroy

thousands spent on medical tests, countless hours with men in white coats. And I all had to do was come to your blog….. it is all clear now.

19 11 2008
emmak

Allergic to work- lol – that probably is a proper medical ‘condition’ in America, ATW Syndrome, only affects people between 9 and 5, Monday to Friday. What is the cure though? Become a shut in and one of those super-bloggers who make millions via their blogs and are on every site in the world even twitter regaling their fans with the softness of their latest bowl movement. its a thought

19 11 2008
conortje

caro – a sugar daddy? That’s genius – it can be my new plan 😉

red leeroy – let’s form a support group!

emmak – you can make money from blogging???????

19 11 2008
Nick

Allergic to work, eh? That’s a serious problem. You’ll have to become one of those con men who pretend to be well-connected aristocrats and trick gullible old ladies out of thousands of pounds. Or gullible old gents, of course. Easy money, very little effort required, just a plausible manner.

19 11 2008
conortje

nick – oh no, I love little old ladies – well the ones that don’t think they are allowed to skip queues just cause they’re old! Old men can be charming too. I’m way too soft for a life of crime I’m afraid.

19 11 2008
brokenbranches

Yay I met one of Conortje’s Occasionallies!!! I was there to witness the Friday night pre-weekend-euphoria and the Sunday afternoon post-party-collapse haha!
As for the work allergy: it’s all starting to make sense now! I get hives just from hitting my first snooze button of the day…

20 11 2008
Quickroute

Work is like a drug – Just say no!

20 11 2008
red

me too. i’ve only been looking for a job for a day and i’m already feeling ill.

20 11 2008
wisewebwoman

I’ve had so many of those experiences I’ve lost track, sounds like the fun on the weekend far outweighed the manner and means by which you attain the funds to have the fun. The endless spin-cycle.
But 5 a.m. sounds awfully brutal, 2 nights in a row yet. Mein Gott, wattaboy!
XO
WWW

20 11 2008
seshata

Why does that ring a bell…Work Allergy…Don’t I wish i had a personal ali baba type cave where the money would never get over…then i could travel 24*7 and would never have to work..I am soooo envious of folks working for Discovery and like channels!

20 11 2008
conortje

brokenbranches – even better , you ARE one of the occasionallies 🙂

quickroute – I did. I said NO but it didn’t hear me

red – is it too soon to give up looking?

www – indeed one may have been manageable but two – dear lord that was hard.

seshata – follow your dream – apply for a job there! And then when you’re in see if you can help me get my foot in the door…

20 11 2008
Townygirl

lol. i love it. i think work gets in the way of life, very irritating. your post made me really laugh. mind you don’t fall off your bike.x

20 11 2008
K8

The second wind – a vital part of the hardened partier’s lifestyle 🙂

20 11 2008
conortje

towny – I always seem to cycle much faster on my way home than on my way to work. I wonder why that is…

K8 – I’d be lost without it

21 11 2008
Baino

Tell you a secret? I’ve bought tickets to the Prodigy in January (coersed by the younglings) and I’m kind of dreading it despite their keenness to involve me (shit they’re almost my age ). I love the stuff, I love to dance but worry about my age. I long for a BIG night out. Aw fuckit I’ll find some grandpa chaperoning his 12 year old and Nana dance to Smack My Bitch Up!! Connor, work to live . . don’t live to work!

21 11 2008
conortje

baino – hehe I bet you’ll have a wicked time. Good for you!

21 11 2008
savannah

what’s my excuse? i work from home, sometimes for just a couple of days and then just admin. stuff for a month and my mind is a sieve, sugar! jaysus, i had to chat with a dear soul in the market this morning because i couldn’t remember what to put in, well, nevermind, no need to embarrass myself again! i think i need to win the lottery!

21 11 2008
savannah

xoxoxo

(see? i even forgot hugs&kisses)

Leave a comment